Review: Murder to Mercy- The Cyntoia Brown Story

Murder to Mercy – The Cyntoia Brown Story

Documentary

96 min

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I am often troubled by these documentaries where the focus is solely on the person responsible for a heinous act and very little, if any, discussion of the victim. I do realize this is the Cyntoia Brown story and not the Johnny Allen story and I watched with this in mind.

This documentary touches on many difficult topics from child prostitution, addiction, long term effects of fetal abuse, to the complex inter-workings of our prison and judicial system. This face to face look at a child victim who became a child murderer gave me pause and forced me to reflect on my personal beliefs and forgiveness. Where does the fault lie when a child victim values life in the same manner hers has been valued?

While my heart ached for Cyntoia’s unfortunate start at life, I couldn’t help but wonder throughout – how does Johnny Allen’s family feel? Again, I realize this wasn’t his story, but aren’t they forever intertwined? His story ended with her, somehow I felt as if her story should forever continue with him in it.

Anyhow… I digress…

This becomes a feel good story for Team Cyntoia and there is much to be considered in the outcome. This is definitely a thought-provoking piece that will make you second guess yourself and leave you thinking.

Note: I would have given 5 stars if Johnny had a voice, too.

Leave a comment